Monday, July 15, 2013

Walter's 20th Congress; Heckman's 3rd - Bob Stewart

For 20 years, Robert Walter has been pulling drawbars and pushing the limits of the Hammond B-3 organ. As a founding member of the Greyboy All Stars, he helped usher in the funk-jazz renaissance of the early '90s. For his new CD -- "Get Thy Bearings" -- Walter reconvenes his long-standing band the 20th Congress. It was a recent move from New Orleans to Los Angeles that jump-started the band, which hadn't recorded a studio disc in ten years. The outlet for the keyboardist's funkiest material since its inception in 1999, the group is rounded out by guitarist/bassist Elgin Park, reedmen Karl Denson and Cochemea Gastelum, and percussionists Chuck Prada and Aaron Redfield.

"Born to Be Blue is the much-anticipated 3rd release from acclaimed multi-saxophonist Steve Heckman. Praised by saxophonists as diverse as Stan Getz, Charles Lloyd and Pharoah Sanders, Heckman has assembled an all-star band that includes the renowned and highly versatile guitarist Howard Alden, pianist Matt Clark, multi-award winner Marcus Shelby on bass, and internationally know drummer Akira Tana. The result is a collection of profound beauty, subtlety and swing featuring gems from the Great American Songbook plus two inspiring originals by Heckman.

1 comment:

Thelma said...

This is great!